Tech

Snapchat users warned of ‘creepy’ feature that reveals location data

Customers of in style social media app Snapchat have been warned of a “creepy” replace.

The replace permits folks on Snapchat to find customers all the way down to their avenue tackle, and even tells customers how lengthy it will take them to get there.

The “Snap Map” replace has sparked privateness and security issues amongst mother and father and specialists.

In March final 12 months, a 16-year-old lady was sexually assaulted in Brighton, England, after a celebration was tracked down by gatecrashers who used the maps function.

Cyber safety skilled Jordan Foster has warned mother and father in regards to the influence such data might have.

The “Snap Map” replace might be disabled by choosing “Ghost Mode” within the software settings.

Earlier this week, Snapchat launched “Snapchat+” – a subscription service which can enable subscribers to view different customers’ places and to rewatch movies for as much as 24 hours after they’ve been posted.

The “Snap Map” replace might be disabled by choosing “Ghost Mode” within the software settings.
Shutterstock

However a spokesperson for Snapchat beforehand told The Daily Mail the corporate was addressing privateness issues.

“Location sharing through the Snap Map is off by default, and Snapchatters who do resolve to share their location will solely be capable of see and be seen by mutual associates,” a spokesperson stated.

“We’ve zero tolerance for any type of bullying or harassment and ask that Snapchatters report abuse or every other security issues within the app.”

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button